USA - Osten

The United States, I traveled from Toronto to Syracuse and down to Windsor, New York and Boston.

Resume - first weeks of travelling

The first 4 weeks on my own (plus 2 in Iceland). Some words about travelling on your own for the first time. 

 

I talked to a lot of other travellers, friends I visited, and similar to many in Germany, most of them would not do a trip like this on their own. I had, have and will have days of homesickness and asking myself why I decided to do this. But I also remember the laughs, drinks I had, the parties we went to and the things I saw, the awesome people I met.

 

Yes it is different, yes sometimes I wish to have a friend I travel with. On the other hand it is great to be independent, choose what to do, what not to do. Relax a whole day at the beach, go for a run or watch TV, not worries about the next days. I suggest everybody to try it and see what happens. That's what I am doing: see what happens next.

 

Thanks for reading and I will keep you up to date! Leave a comment here and there.

 

PS: leave some stuff at home, depending on the country you go to, you can buy everything there. Travelling with a light backpack feels much better.

Boston

Due to the fact that I really enjoyed staying in Windsor with Con, a good friend, my time in Boston is quite short. Arriving on wednesday, I spent some hours walking around and setteling down in the HI Boston Hostel, one of the newest and best hostels I have ever been to. 

In the evening, looking for some Pasta I assumed to be back in Germany, reading Jaegerschnitzel and Hefeweizen on the menue. I had to try that one and it was pretty good! 

After another day of walking, including the freedom trail, Boston is a nice not too big city with a great history, a part of americas behinning. Thanks to my english teacher I already knew alot about it and it was great to be there, at the places where "it" happened.

Moreover the museum of fine arts is a great place to spent some time in and in the USS informationcenter and near the boats you laern a lot aboud americas role in the past wars.

Finally, I learned to always carry a second batterie for my cam with me, well I took some pictures wifh my mobile. Again what learned! ;)

New York

I spent the weekend in NY, 4 days, and thanks to a relative showing me around saw a lot of the city. Every nationality is there, a lot of tourists and very different suburbs. We stayed in the middle of Manhatten, drove to Brooklyn, walked over the bridge back to Manhatten, the memorial, new world trade center and saw a lot of construction too. All in all it is a great city that really never sleeps, which I realized on sunday.


Again it is amazing to see these old buildings and first skyscrapers underneath the big new ones!

Windsor Locks and sourroundings (Syracuse)

After Syracuse (see below) I moved on to a friends house in windsor locks. It reminded me of the countryside I live, except the huge cities nearby like NY or Boston, where I will definitly stay for some days.

 

I went to the beach nearby, the air museum and many other great museums in springfield, MA (amory, sprinfield museum, art galery and many more). One day we also went to Hartfort Yale university. They even have a kibary with windows out of stone there!

And of course a baseballgame were the CT Tigers won after a homerun in round 9 and turned the 1:4 in a 5:4.

First stop: Syracuse NY

I surfed a couch in Syracuse for two days, thanks again Joy! She showed me whole Syracuse, it has great campus and restaurants. It was full of students moving in their houses or rooms. Like in the movies!

Remember to KLICK ON the pictures to ENLARGE ;)

Hobbies:

1. Car and motorbikes

Mountainbiking (not many clips yet)

Website

Youtube

 

2. Modell railroad

Website

Youtube

 

Besucherzaehler